Composition of the Board of The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis & Malaria

LIST OF BOARD MEMBERS, ALTERNATES AND FOCAL POINTS

Voting Members

China (Western Pacific Region)

Board Member

Dr. Huang Jiefu Vice Minister Ministry of Health

Alternate

Mr. Liu Peilong
Director General
Department of International Cooperation
Ministry of Health
China

Focal Point

Dr. Ren Minghui
Deputy Director General
Department of International Cooperation
Ministry of Health
China

Developed Country NGO

Board Member

Ms Helene Rossert-Blavier Director General AIDES Paris France

Alternate

Dr Massimo Barra Director Villa Maraini Foundation Italy

Focal Point

Mr. Richard Burzynski Executive Director ICASO Toronto, ON Canada M4Y 1G7

Developing Country NGO

Board Member

Ms. Milly Katana Lobbying and Advocacy Officer Health Rights Action Group Kampala, Uganda

Alternate

Rev. Dr. Fidon R. Mwombeki General Secretary Northwestern Diocese Evangelical Lutheran Church in Tanzania, Tanzania

Focal Point

Ms. Lucy Ng'ang'a Eastern Africa Network of AIDS Service Organisations Arusha, Tanzania

Eastern Mediterranean Region (Pakistan)

Board Member

Mr. Ejaz Rahim Federal Secretary Health Government of Pakistan

Alternate

Mr. Abdul Nasser Munibari
Minister of Public Health and Population
Republic of Yemen

Focal Point

Dr. Abdul Majid Rajput, MBBS, MPH, FRACMA Director Health Services Academy Islamabad Pakistan

Eastern Europe (Ukraine)

Board Member

Dr. Andrej Pidaev, MD.,Ph.D. Minister of Health Ukraine

Alternate

Not determined

Focal Point

Ms. Zhana Tsenilova Head International Relation Dept. Ministry of Health

Focal Point

Ms. Svitlana Gomanovska Second Secretary Permanent Mission of Ukraine to UN and Other International Organisations 14 Rue de l'Orangerie CH – 1202 Geneva Switzerland

Eastern & Southern Africa (Uganda)

Board Member

Dr. Chrispus Kiyonga Minister without Portfolio Government of Uganda

Alternate

Dr. Manto Tshabalala-Msimang Minister of Health South Africa

Focal Point

Prof. F Omaswa Director General Health Services Ministry of Health Uganda

European Commission (Belgium, Austria)

Board Member

Dr. Lieve Fransen
Head of Unit
Human and Social Development
Directorate General for Development
Belgium

Alternate

Mrs. Angeline Eichhorst Human and Social Development Directorate General for Development Belgium

Focal Point

Mrs. Véronique Puttevils Human and Social Development Directorate General for Development Belgium

France (Germany, Luxemburg, Spain)

Board Member

Mrs. Mireille GUIGAZ
Directeur du Développement et
de la Coopération Technique - CID/DCT
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Paris
France

Alternate

Mr. Serge Tomasi Sous-directeur pour le développement social Direction du développement et de la Coopération technique - DCTH Ministry of Foreign Affairs France

Focal Point

Mr. Frederic Goyet
Chargé de mission santé
Direction du developpement et de la
Coopération technique
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
France

Focal Point

Mr. Jacques le Pape Chef de bureau Aide au développement Et Affaires multilatérales Direction du Trésor Ministry of Finance

Private Foundations

Board Member

Dr. Helene D. Gayle Senior Advisor HIV/AIDS Program

Alternate

Dr Melinda Kimble Senior Vice President for Programs Washington DC 20036 USA

Focal Point

Dr. Todd Summers Progressive Health Partners USA

<u>Italy</u>

Board Member

Mr. Giandomenico Magliano Minister Plenipotentiary Director-General Development Cooperation Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Alternate

Mr. Claudio Spinedi Counsellor Director-General Development Cooperation Ministry of Foreign Affairs Italy

Focal Point

Ms. Natalia Quintavalle
Counsellor
Permanent Mission of Italy to the UN Office
Switzerland

<u>Japan</u>

Board member

Mr. Seiji Morimoto
Deputy Director-General of
the Multilateral Cooperation Dept.
Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Alternate

Mr. Masakazu Toshikage Director, Specialized Agencies Administration Division, Multilateral Cooperation Department Japan

Focal Point

Mr. Satoshi Hemmi First Secretary, Permanent Mission of Japan in Geneva

Focal Point

Dr. Masami Sakoi Deputy Director International Affairs Division Japan

Latin America & Caribbean (Brazil)

Board Member

Dr. Paolo Roberto Teixeira Director, Brazilian STD/AIDS Program Ministry of Health Brazil

Alternate

Dr. Rosemeire Munhoz Chief Advisor for International Affairs Brazilian STD/AIDS Program Brazil

Focal Point

Jhoney Barcarolo Advisor for International Affairs Brazilian STD/AIDS Program Brazil

Private Sector

Board Member

Mr. Rajat Gupta Managing Director McKinsey & Company

<u>Alternate</u>

Dr. Brian Antony Brink
Senior Vice President: Medical
Anglo American Corporation
Of South Africa Ltd

Focal Point

Dr. Kate Taylor Associate Director Global Health Initiative World Economic Forum

South East Asia (Thailand)

Board Member

Dr. Suwit Wibulpolprasert
Deputy Permanent Secretary
Ministry of Public Health

Alternate

Dr. Viroj Tangcharoensathien
Deputy Director
International Health Policy Program-Thailand
Ministry of Public Health

Focal Point

Ms. Cha-aim Pachanee
Bureau of International Health
Office of the Permanent Secretary

Sweden (Denmark, Ireland, Netherlands, Norway)

Board Member

Mr. Lennarth Hjelmåker Director, Ambassador Department for Global Development Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Alternate

Ms. Marijke Wijnroks Health Adviser Ministry of Foreign Affairs The Hague The Netherlands

Focal Point

Mr. Bengt Gunnar Herrström Deputy Director Dept. for Global Development (GU) Ministry for Foreign Affairs Sweden

<u>United Kingdom</u> (Canada, Switzerland)

Board Member

Mrs. Clare Short Minister for International Development

Alternate

Mr. Ernest Loevinsohn
Director General
Program against Hunger, Malnutrition and Disease
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)

Focal Point

Mr. Martin Taylor Health Strategist Department for International Development

Focal Point

Mr. Steven Sabey Team Manager, Health Systems Department for International Development

USA

Board Member

Mr. Tommy G. Thompson Secretary of Health and Human Services

Alternate

Dr. Jack Chow Deputy Assistant Secretary for International Health and Science Department of State

Focal Point

Dr. William Steiger Special Assistant to the Secretary US Department of Health and Human Services

Focal Point

Mrs. Judith Kaufmann
International Relations Officer
Department of State

West and Central Africa (Nigeria)

Board Member

Prof. Adetokunbo O. Lucas Professor of International Health Harvard University

Alternate

Not determined

Focal Point

Not determined

Ex Officio Members without voting rights

NGO Representative of the community of people living with HIV/AIDS or from a community living with TB or malaria

Board Member

Mrs. Philippa Lawson
The Futures Group International

Alternate

Mr. Rodrigo Pascal Executive Coordinator Vivo Positivo REDLA+ Santiago Chile

Focal Point

Mr. Stuart Flavell
Director
Global Network of Positive People (GNP+)
Amsterdam
Netherlands

UNAIDS

Board Member

Dr. Peter Piot Executive Director

Alternate

Dr. James Sherry
Director
Programme Development & Coordination Group

Focal Point

Ms Frances McCaul Executive Officer

<u>WHO</u>

Board Member

Dr. Gro Harlem Brundtland Director-General

Alternate

Dr. David Nabarro
Executive Director
Office of the Director-General

Focal Point

Dr. Andrew Cassels Strategy Unit Office of the Director-General

Focal Point

Mr. Jonas Store World Health Organisation

World Bank

Board Member

Mr. Geoffrey Lamb Director, Resource Mobilisation Department

Alternate

Not determined

Focal Point

Ms. Ann Duncan Lead Adviser

Board Designated non voting Swiss Member

Board Member

Mr. Edmond Tavernier Senior Partner

Tavernier Tschanz (Avocates: Attorneys-at-Law)